Canada

Making it easier to get out of group chats and the other WhatsApp changes you need to know about

WhatsApp is making changes to give people more privacy and control, with a range of new features rolling out to users soon.

Users of the Meta-owned messaging app will be able to silently leave group chats, choose who sees them when they’re online, and prevent screenshots of “view once” messages.

These changes are aimed at protecting user privacy, Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg said in a Facebook post on Tuesday.

“New privacy features coming to WhatsApp: exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots from being shown after a message,” he said.

“We’ll continue to build new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”

Silently leave WhatsApp group chats

If you’re in too many group chats but feel uncomfortable leaving, there’s good news; soon you’ll be able to avoid social awkwardness by exiting the chat without notifying everyone.

WhatsApp currently alerts group chat members when someone leaves or is removed. But with the new change, which will begin rolling out to all users this month, only group administrators will be notified if someone leaves.

WhatsApp will also introduce the ability for users to choose who can and cannot see when they are online. This new feature will start rolling out to all users this month.

Another new feature will be the ability to block screenshots for “see once” platform messages.

Users can now send ephemeral photos and videos that disappear from the chat once opened. WhatsApp said it will soon enable screenshot blocking for these messages.

“We are testing this feature now and are excited to release it to users soon,” the platform said in a blog post.

More time to delete WhatsApp messages

In addition, WhatsApp also announced that users will now have much more time to delete messages they regret sending.

“Rethinking your message? You will now have just over two days to delete your messages from your chats after you hit send, WhatsApp announced on social media.

That’s a lot longer than the hour or so that people previously had to change their minds.